Book Review: Liv Bergen series

Posted by Nichole on March 6, 2016 in Book Reviews, FanGirl, Mystery |

I’ve talked about this series before and I just can’t say enough things about it.

If you don’t know anything about the Liv Bergen series, here’s a crash course.  Liv is a strong, independent woman who comes from a family of nine children.  The family is in the mining business, and Liv is definitely at home in the Quarry.  Of the five books currently in the series, the settings bounce from the Black Hills of South Dakota to the Colorado and back again.

I’ll admit I’m a huge fan, and not just because the books are tied to “my back yard.”  I’ve met author Sandra Brannan and she’s about as sweet as you can imagine.

So, having said all that, here’s the break down of the five books currently in the series.

jonahIn the Belly of Jonah

This is the first one in the series and lays the groundwork for the rest.  It explains how Liv ends up leaving the Quarry and how she begins to imagine a life in the FBI and with a certain FBI Agent.

This is a definite psychological thriller and well written.


Lot’s Return to Sodom
lotThe second in the series heads to the Black Hills in August.  Specifically to the annual Sturgis Motorcycle Rally.  In this one we have Liv’s brother accused of murder and Liv trying to clear his name, while staying clear of Lucifer’s Lot — a nasty motorcycle gang in town for the rally.

During the course of this investigation, Liv and her love interest — FBI Agent Streeter Pierce — get to know each other better and learn to work together better.  Again, another well-written psychological thriller.


Widow’s Might

widowNumber three picks up just days after Lot’s Return to Sodom ends.  It’s like reading one really long book.

In this one, Liv stays in the Black Hills area because of another murder.  This one tied to a cold-case serial killer known as the Crooked Man.  She also becomes the “handler” for an FBI search dog.  Liv, with the help of Beulah and Streeter, are on the case, but her personal life…well, that’s a little more complicated.  You see, now there’s another FBI Agent (Jack Linwood) who has caught Liv’s eye.


Noah’s Rainy Day

noahIn this one, Liv heads back to Colorado after finishing her FBI training at Quantico.  While visiting her family for Christmas, a child goes missing from the Denver airport.  As Liv and Beulah, her K-9, search for the child, another child — Liv’s nephew — sees things that could help solve the case.  But he can’t tell a soul.  Noah has severe cerebral palsy and can not speak, run, walk, or even crawl.

This one kept me on the edge of my seat.


Solomon’s Whisper 

solomanLiv starts digging into another cold case, this one involving the death of her 10 year old niece.  And it’s a case that seems tied to a more current murder.

But as Liv works through the emotions of the case, she’s also dealing with the emotions of being drawn to two different men — Streeter and Jack — as well as her self-doubt about being an FBI agent at all.



Despite the names of the books sounding like they come straight from the Bible, there isn’t a religious  aspect to the stories.  Each book would be classified as a psychological thriller and the stories are compelling and grip the reader right at the beginning.

Pick them  up.  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.





Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2011-2018 Nichole's thoughts All rights reserved.
This site is using the Multi Child-Theme, v2.2, on top of
the Parent-Theme Desk Mess Mirrored, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com